St. John Fisher Roman Catholic Church

30 Jones Hollow Road, Marlborough, CT 06447

I’m going to talk about two definitions, two mysteries, and two realities.

What is love? According to the American Heritage Dictionary it is: “a deep, tender, ineffable feeling of affection and solicitude toward a person, such as that arising from kinship, recognition of attractive qualities, or a sense of underlying oneness.” Oh? Really?!?

What is the Most Holy Trinity? In basic terms, it is the central Christian doctrine that states there are three persons in one God (Father, Son, and Holy Spirit), each distinct from one another equally sharing in the same nature. Uh huh…

Now that’s out of the way, what does each mean? Both love and the Trinity are mysteries. Both are unexplainable. Why do people “fall in love” with this person and not that one? What triggers love? How do the persons of the Trinity relate to one another? How do they relate to us? How do we “know” the Trinity?

Experience; experience tells us that both are real.

I hope each adult here has experienced the feeling of love at least once in our lives. You know the feeling of your heart skipping a beat or your insides turning to mush when you catch sight of the person you love entering a room, or you hear the sound of her/his voice. But those feelings lead to a choice to enter into a relationship, a willingness to commit your life to another. That’s the reality of love. And I hope that each younger person here has already experienced parental love and the deep closeness of a friend. That, too, is the reality of love.

I also hope that each one of us has experienced the feeling of God as a loving Creator, Savior, and Guide: the one who gives us life and all that it entails; who has created us humans with all of our complexity of body, mind, and soul and who provides us with the world of nature and its many beauties; the one who showed us by word and deed how to become truly human by doing good and showing compassion for each toher, who has promised us eternal life by his life, death and resurrection; the one who moves among us unseen, inspiring us to do or say things we have thought improbable and even impossible, who forms us to be community and gives us courage and perseverance to remain so in spite of naysayers or difficulties.

I choose to believe in love. I choose to believe in the Trinity.

I choose to believe in mystery.

I hope you do, too.

~Fr. Sas, May 31 Homily

The Most Holy Trinity


Faith Formation Registration ~ 2018-2019

Faith Formation Classes, Grades 1-9 ~ Please register before May 31 (to avoid a late fee)

Registration forms are available HERE or at both of the church entrances.

Please place your completed forms in an envelope marked Faith Formation. Envelopes may be placed in the offertory basket, brought to the church office, or mailed.

Please email Theresa Brysgel at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with any questions.

Online Giving logo 150x44

Sign up for our Online Giving program. Set donations to recur and you won't have to worry about remembering your check or envelope each week.